Me hungry!

Posted on Updated on

20141226_161543

Since a week of 3 I started training a little more often and  a bit more intense than before. Now I’m hungry all the time. I try to eat enough protein and (the right) carbs, foods with a lot of minerals and vitamins and calories. Yes a lot of calories, because I need it.

Last week I just ate half a casserole. The entire thing is meant for 4 people and I ate half of it. I never ate that much in one time. My body tells me what she needs, but I’m wondering if I’m not overdoing it. It kind of feels like I’m a food monster, a wolverine. I don’t skip meals, I eat (healthy) snacks, I try to eat a lot of veggies and fruit and to make recipes with lots of healthy and filling ingredients. But still, I eat a lot of food.

Maybe I should eat more for breakfast, or bigger snacks, or other types of food? Or just eat more? I don’t know. I really don’t know! Are there any other people like me? You workout about 4 – 6 times a week. Lifting heave and maybe running. I just can’t be the only one who eats half a casserole! Please?

The photo is funny story by the way. This was my PJ, movie, Christmas dinner for just 3 people.  I cooked al the dishes myself. I really like food and I also like cooking.  Not a big fan of Christmas, but this one I liked! Of course it was way too much. I had left overs for more than a week. Gave away a bunch of it. That was a bit overdoing it.

Can you imagine I’m a bit afraid I’m overdoing it again? By being hungry all the time. I’m getting a bit hungry right now, thinking so much about food. I hope there’s a ripe mango in the fruit basket. Or maybe some home made oven baked chips of a sweet potatoe?

Ps. If you want recipes, I can e-mail it to you.

3 thoughts on “Me hungry!

    therfpscribe said:
    17 February 2015 at 11:21 pm

    Last Sunday after a 4.5hrs long run I ate 2kg of potatoes and bolognaise sauce, followed by walnuts and cashews, an apple and 2 oranges. 4 hours later I was eating again (salmon, vegetables, rice and a lot of chocolates). I am female and 5 foot 1.
    I think it is okay and normal to eat a lot of food if you are hungry, it’s a problem only if you eat when you are not. Also, like you said, you are doing a lot of sports so your body needs food for recovery. Trust your body’s hunger signals.

    Like

      nataliazen responded:
      17 February 2015 at 11:29 pm

      I’m so glad you can relate to this. Potatoes and bolognese sauce? Never tried that combi. Maybe I will. Yes, you’re right, we should listen to our bodies. And drink enough water. I read that thirst sometimes feels like hunger. 4 5 hr run? That’s long! You train for a marathon or ultra? Read a book about an ultra runner, super fascinating! I will never do an ultra, but it’s really fascinating to read about it!

      Like

        therfpscribe said:
        18 February 2015 at 8:12 am

        Haha bolognaise goes with anything! I had potatoes to finish up quickly that’s all. Definitely rehydrate, and don’t be scared of salt either. It helps you keep the water, which is a dieter’s worst nightmare maybe, but important for sportspeople.

        Like

Leave a Reply

