New Year’s Eve – #1 Oslo Diary

Posted on Updated on

10689500_10205580558938504_3088761418307062698_n

New Year’s Eve? Well, that is when I did something really crazy. No, there was no drinking involved!

Around 11 pm at New Year’s Eve I signed up for my very very first marathon! And the second after I hit the enter-button it scared the shit out of me. What did I do? I signed up voluntarely to run 26.2 miles or 42.2 kilometres. After my two half marathons I always said, that I never ever would run a marathon. That is what I said after my first half and my second half marathon.

Why the hell did I sign up? That’s a very good question. I’m not sure if I know the answer myself, besides the fact if I’m physically capable of running 26 miles. During both of my half marathons everything started to hurt after 12 kilometers, luckily there were only 9 kilometres left. But with a marathon that would be 30 (!!!!!!) kilometres. Do you see the difference? That worries me most. 30 kilometres of pain and hurt. I just don’t know if I can do that. And if my body can handle a marathon training schedule. I don’t know either.

Besides that, I have asthma and even with two kinds of medicines it still holds me back. My lungs are dying when I push myself real hard with running or CrossFit. Judged on the facts it is almost doomed to fail.

But that day before New Year’s Eve it came up a couple of times with several people. It kept lingering around in my head the entire day, the entire evening. I started thinking; what if…? I checked on Google what would be a nice marathon to run. Before I knew it, I was browsing on the Nordic site of Oslo marathon ( I’ve never been to Norway, so this seemed a good reason to go there). I consulted my best friend on the phone, What should I do?. He said; Just do it! If you set your mind to something, it will be done! No matter how you get it done, but you do it. So just do it!

But I still doubted myself so much. Pain & asthma, my two enemies. I’m afraid of them, all the time.

Then it hit me. The only way to know if I can run 42 kilometres, is to train for it and to run it. And the need to know, was suddenly growing bigger and bigger. So at 11 pm I signed up for my first marathon! Save the date: 19th September 2015. 248 days and 15 hours to go.

It won’t be easy, it will be hard and painful, there will be times I wish I never signed up, but I just need to know if I can do it! Hope you bear with me and support me. Help me push through and cheer for me if I cross that finish line. I will keep you posted on my marathon journey.

Oslo here I come!

Leave a Reply

